Releasing Faith’s Potential

Romans 12:3(NKJV)
3For I say, through the grace given to me, to everyone who is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think soberly, as God has dealt to each one a measure of faith.

(I am traveling this week and I am sorry to say that my blog time may be limited.  It may take a bit to get through last Sunday’s message and I am not sure what I will be doing for the month I am away.  Keep checking though, as I will try and find time and internet access to keep things coming.  That’s just for you Joan and George.)

We have been looking at this scripture from the standpoint that God has given to each Christian the same potential to believe God.  This potential will manifest itself according to the calling of that individual, but no one has a greater capacity for faith than anyone else.  We are all born, or born again, with the same faith potential.  I believe this is a vital truth in our society as we tend to be so focused on special people.  Whether the are special because of sports, entertainment or politics, we tend to view these people as better than the rest of us. 

When this thinking enters the church it is a real problem.  We can think that those who are upfront or in some way famous have more faith or anointing than the rest of us can have.  They are doing their job and God has given them what is necessary to accomplish that.  Your job is not less important in God’s economy.  He has given you the same measure to do what you are called to as He has given the famous person to do their job.  Anyone can have world changing faith.  You have the potential to have it.

The next thing we need to know is how to release that faith potential?  I believe there are three basic things we need to be functioning in to fully release our potential to believe.  To understand this, however, we must first recognize that walking by faith and not by sight is a skill.  When learning any skill there are certain things you have to be able to master.  You will always begin uncomfortable and, with time and practice, come to a place where the skill becomes second nature.  Let me say again that the key is time and practice.  Without those two elements you will never master a skill.

Most of us drive a car.  It has been a long time since I learned this skill but I still remember how difficult it was the first few times I tried it.  I remember that the steering wheel didn’t seem to respond the way I thought it should.  I remember that it was a challenge to look down from the road to check my speed.  I just couldn’t believe that bad things would not happen if I took my eye off the road for just a second. 

The day I got my license at 16 we had a day off from school because of a late season snow storm.  My mother worked nights at that time so she was sleeping and my father was at work.  The snow melted and I went up and told my Mom I had gotten my license and asked if I could take the car and visit my future wife.  My mother said something through her sleep that sounded enough life yes to me so off I went. 

The problem was Elaine, now my wife, was in nursing school on the other side of the city.  I had never driven in the city.  I had never negotiated that kind of intersection.  Everything was strange and more than a little frightening.  I managed to get there and back without incident.  When I got home my father made sure I knew what a bad idea it had been to take his car to a place I didn’t have the skill to negotiate. 

Today such a trip would not even take thought.  I get in the car and go.  It is second nature.  I know the steering wheel will do what I want it to.  I know how to apply the gas and the brakes.  I can tune the radio, talk on the phone, with a hands free device of course, and do all kinds of things while I drive.  It is a skill and through time and practice it has become second nature to me.

Walking by faith is the same.  It is a skill.  It must be practiced.  Certain elements must be mastered to master the whole skill.  If we take the time to practice this skill it will become just as second nature to us as driving.  However, as we begin it will often seem strange and difficult.  The thing to remember is that, for the most part, skills are things we need in life.  Sometimes they can even be life or death.  We cannot begin mastering the skill when it is a critical situation.  The skill must be mastered under normal circumstances and then when we really need it we will have it available.

I want to encourage you to practice the skill of walking by faith.  We will look at some elements you will have to master, but to begin with get ready in your heart.  Ask the Lord to help you know where to begin.  He will.  Learning a skill opens up new dimensions of life.  Think of how your world expanded once you were able to drive.  The same is true of the skill of walking by faith.  Begin today and soon you will be ready to take on challenges with a whole new set of tools.

Leave a comment